You are here

Programs & Events

Past

Lecture | Discussion

Jewish Graphic Design from the Talmud to Today

Sunday, June 23, 2013
2:00 pm

Guests joined Daniel Belasco for a presentation of Jewish graphic design... More >

Film | Discussion

Orchestra of Exiles

Thursday, June 20, 2013
7:00 pm

Featuring Itzhak Perlman, Zubin Mehta, and Pinchas Zukerman, "Orchestra of... More >

Film | Discussion

Hava Nagila (The Movie)

Thursday, June 6, 2013
7:00 pm

Attendees saw the definitive, glorious, musical story of how a traditional... More >

Lecture | Discussion

NEXTwork Lunch & Learn: Jewish Megatrends

Charting the Course of the American Jewish Future

Monday, May 20, 2013
12:00 pm to 1:00 pm

The American Jewish community is... More >

Author Event | Booksigning

Nate Silver on The Signal and the Noise

Why So Many Predictions Fail but Some Don’t

Sunday, May 19, 2013
1:00 pm

New York Times number-crunching forecaster Nate Silver spoke at Spertus... More >

Lecture | Discussion

Elana Drell Szyfer on Global Vision, Jewish Leadership, and a Woman’s Journey to the Dead Sea

Sunday, May 5, 2013
2:00 pm

[AUDIO] Guests visited with Elana Drell Szyfer, CEO of... More >

Author Event | Booksigning

Ballots, Babies, and Banners of Peace

Thursday, May 2, 2013
7:00 pm

[AUDIO] Attendees heard Dr. Melissa R. Klapper, director of... More >

Author Event | Booksigning

Germans vs. Russians: The Origins of Chicago’s Organized Jewish Community 1859–1923

Sunday, April 21, 2013
2:00 pm

[AUDIO] Guests joined author and historian Tobias Brinkmann... More >

Conference

Judaism, Health, and Healing: A Chicago Community Resource Conference

Sunday, April 14, 2013
8:30 am to 4:30 pm

Attendees joined us for daylong conference on health-related... More >

Author Event | Booksigning

Jews and Magic in Medici Florence

The Secret World of Benedetto Blanis

Tuesday, March 19, 2013
7:00 pm

[AUDIO] In the 17th century, Jews in Florence’s tiny ghetto... More >

Lecture | Discussion

Kenneth Feinberg on Who Gets What: Fair Compensation After Tragedy and Financial Upheaval

Sunday, March 10, 2013
2:00 pm

Guests heard Kenneth Feinberg, the expert responsible for victim... More >

Conversation

Flashbacks: East German Films on Cold War Screens

Thursday, March 7, 2013
6:00 pm

[AUDIO] Two experts on East German cinema discussed the... More >

Cooking

Prepping for Passover with Chef Laura Frankel

Cooking Class

Wednesday, March 6, 2013
6:30 pm

Chef Laura Frankel showed you how to put together a fun and delicious... More >

Lecture | Discussion

Jews, Catholics, and the American Idea

Wednesday, February 20, 2013
7:00 pm

Guests joined us for the 18th Joseph Cardinal Bernardin Jerusalem Lecture,... More >

Seminar

Rediscovering Felix Mendelssohn

Presented with WFMT

Sunday, February 10, 2013
9:00 am to 4:30 pm

Guests joined Spertus, WFMT, and conductor Stephen Somary for an exploration... More >

Author Event | Booksigning

Jonathan Safran Foer on Judaism, Writing, and Inspiration

Sunday, January 13, 2013
2:00 pm

Attendees heard Jonathan Safran Foer, award-winning, bestselling author of "... More >

Opening

Tales, Myths, and Nightmares

Exhibit Opening | Lecture

Sunday, December 9, 2012
3:00 pm

Guests met artist and scholar Yohanan Petrovsky-Shtern as... More >

Special Event

Jane Eisner on "Where are the Women in Jewish Professional Life?"

Wednesday, November 14, 2012
5:30 pm

Jane Eisner, editor-in-chief of the Forward, spearheaded an important... More >

Pages