You are here

Programs & Events

Past

Symposium

A Jewish Theologian in Chicago

Themes in the Thought of Eliezer Berkovits

Monday, March 7, 2011
12:00 pm to 7:00 pm

[AUDIO] This symposium brought together leading scholars to... More >

Lecture | Discussion

The Medieval Haggadah Art, Narrative, and Religious Imagination

Tuesday, February 22, 2011
12:00 pm

Dr. Marc Michael Epstein shared images from beautiful medieval haggadot (... More >

Film | Discussion

U.S. Premiere! Finding Leah Tickotsky: A Discovery of Heritage in Poland

Thursday, January 27, 2011
6:30 pm

Sarah Golabek-Goldman produced Finding Leah Tickotsky, a documentary that... More >

Film | Discussion

Prisoner of Her Past

Sunday, November 14, 2010
2:00 pm

[VIDEO] Prisoner of Her Past tells the haunting story of a... More >

Opening

A Celebration of Chicago's Jewish History

Sunday, September 19, 2010
3:00 pm

The Maxwell St. Junior Klezmer Orchestra kicked off Spertus’ multi-year... More >

Performance

Hershey Felder on the Creation of Maestro

The Art of Leonard Bernstein A Behind-the-Scenes Look

Thursday, September 2, 2010
7:00 pm

In advance of performances at Ravinia, Hershey Felder came to Spertus with a... More >

Film | Discussion

A Film Unfinished

Sunday, August 1, 2010
3:00 pm

After World War II, 60 minutes of raw film, shot by the Nazis propaganda... More >

Author Event | Booksigning

Spertus In the Suburbs

Hard Choices

Allocating Tzedakah in Difficult Times

Sunday, June 27, 2010
7:45 pm

Rabbi Jill Jacobs shared approaches for making tzedakah choices, both... More >

Symposium

The American Jewish Mosaic

Sunday, June 6, 2010
2:00 pm

[AUDIO] Like the tiles in a mosaic, Jewish identity is... More >

Author Event | Booksigning

Day After Night

Sunday, May 23, 2010
2:00 pm

Spertus welcomed bestselling author Anita Diamant to Chicago to discuss her... More >

Lecture | Discussion

The Place of God in Jewish Law

Sunday, May 16, 2010
2:00 pm

[AUDIO] When religions are compared, scholars often... More >

Author Event | Booksigning

The Inextinguishable Symphony

A True Story of Music and Love in Nazi Germany

Sunday, April 11, 2010
2:00 pm

[AUDIO] Martin Goldsmith brings to light the Jüdischer... More >

Lecture | Discussion

Paul and Judaism

Ten New Perspectives

Wednesday, March 10, 2010
7:00 pm to 9:00 pm

The Joseph Cardinal Bernardin Jerusalem Lecture is an annual program that... More >

Lecture | Discussion

From People to Purpose

The New Ethos of Innovative Jewish Leaders

Monday, March 8, 2010
3:00 pm

[AUDIO] Jewish leaders under age 40 have created new... More >

Author Event | Booksigning

A Fine Romance: Jewish Songwriters, American Songs

Sunday, February 14, 2010

[AUDIO] David Lehman imparted some of his vast knowledge in... More >

Seminar

The Economic Downturn and the Future of the American Jewish Community

Monday, February 8, 2010
9:00 am

[AUDIO] Dr. Sarna examined the economic downturn and its... More >

Author Event | Booksigning

36 Arguments for the Existence of God

Thursday, January 21, 2010
7:00 pm

[AUDIO] Award-winning author Rebecca Goldstein spoke at... More >

Author Event | Booksigning

Louis D. Brandeis

A Life

Monday, December 14, 2009
7:00 pm

[AUDIO] Author Melvin I. Urofsky came to Spertus to discuss... More >

Pages